A Natural End

bored-couple_opt

I sat opposite her, an uncomfortable silence hung in the air between us; like we were strangers unsure of what to talk about. I didn’t feel the need or urge to tell her anything. Everything we’d usually talk about just didn’t seem of importance – we didn’t want to talk anymore.

We fiddled with our phones, looked at our watches – not taking in the time at all – and looked around at the other people. We used to come to this bar all of the time, but now we didn’t recognise anybody. They were all strangers now, just like she was to me.

Several years and I didn’t feel anything for her anymore. All of the memories felt dull and repetitive. I didn’t want to be with her now, and I could tell she felt the same way. There’s no point holding onto a relationship that doesn’t bring you joy right? No point clinging to somebody who makes things feel like a chore rather than a pleasure. This relationship only survived out of a sense of duty to each other I guess; to somebody who has been in my life for so long.

It’s not like we hate each other; no argument, no bad feelings. We’ve just… run our course.

It happens to everyone. You just grow apart, develop different interests, evolve as a person. No matter how big of a part they play in your life, you can’t always be the same, or change in the same way. That’s just the way it is I thought.

I needed to end the silence that hung between us.

“I know we’ve known each other since school; been through a lot together… but do you think it’s time to admit that our friendship is over now?”

 

[292 words]

Leave a comment

Filed under creative writing, flash fiction, inspired by real life, twist endings

Leave a Reply

